Tuesday, July 26, 2016

How do weeks just disappear in the summer?  I guess last week had a Tuesday in it but I completely lost track of time and never posted.  I’d like to think that is a good thing, if you will.  Let summer just take over.

I am so lucky to be able to spend this particular week at the Chautauqua Institute in New York.   I get to fill my cup in a way that is hard to explain.  Here’s a peek into just today:

A walk to the Farmer’s Market only to find out that yesterday’s rains had prevented any blueberry picking.  I’ll have to go back tomorrow.

A walk/run/jog along the lakefront, past the kid’s camp area and the marina, beyond the little forest, down the hill, up the hill, past the fire house, and through the streets of waking Chautauquans on their way to the first morning lecture.

A cushioned seat in the amphitheater to listen to Nalini Nadkami, a biologist at the University of Utah and a tree lover.  It’s National Geographic Week and the topic is People and the Environment.  I took notes through the entire lecture as she share ways that she is encouraging others to be stewards of the earth.  I kept finding ways of doing similar things with my 5th graders.

Lunch on our 3rd floor deck while reading my book club book.

A 2 hour tour of the museum featuring the 35 resident student artists.  The docent shared story after story of how each one arrived here or where they were hoping to go with their art or funny anecdotes of their stay here.  We finished the tour by doing what we always do after a museum tour – choose the ‘lottery piece’.  If you could take one work home to put on your wall, what would it be and where would you put it?  I decided to spruce up our living room with an abstract this time.

Follow that with a homemade cookie at the cafe, a short walk across campus and then class for 2 hours.  We meet each day this week with 5 of us to read several plays aloud, each taking a role or two.  We have been reading the play “The Mound Builders” by Landford Wilson aloud.  I read the part of Jean.  We learned about Native American Mounds that are scattered around the US.  Who knew??  We start a comedy tomorrow.

Dinner on the porch with my mother in law’s good friend, Doloras, and her caregiver.  We shared stories of traveling in Slovenia, Moose in Alaska and unhelpful rabbis in Israel.

Then finish the day with Tchaikovsky – a little pas de duex from Swan Lake, a little operatic romance and then Piano Concerto #1 in B-flat minor, opus 23.  So beautiful, in spite of two siren interruptions from the volunteer fire department.  We all laughed and cheered through them both.  And were treated to an encore by the pianist.

Stars in the clear sky led us the few blocks home.IMG_5066

Can you tell me, what would have made this day any better?

 

 

One thought on “Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Leave a comment