Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Earlier this summer, I read a post by a fellow blogger, Ms. Victor , who was at the TCRWP this summer and shared a quote from Ralph Fletcher:  “You have to keep making your life bigger because things keep getting pulled out of it.”  It struck a chord with me enough several months ago that I copied and pasted the quote and hid it in my drafts.  I am amazed at how sometimes things fall into your lap right when you need them as I opened that draft today.

I am still struggling to embrace the emptiness of our house as both of our kids are off to college.  The routines and the patterns of the past 21 years have been ‘pulled out’ and I am mourning that loss.  I keep trying to some wisdom to hang on to in order to right my ship and returning to this quote is just what I needed today.

Darn it if things don’t get pulled out our lives all of the time.  Sometimes I am glad that things are pulled out, and sometimes not so much.  If we keep adding and making this life bigger, maybe those things that are pulled out won’t be so painfully missed.

I needed that little redirection – from Ralph, via Ms. Victor.  Thank you.  I am grateful for this little community in so many ways beyond what I learn from you all about teaching about writing.

5 thoughts on “Tuesday, September 27, 2016

  1. It is amazing how the words we need to hear find us at just the right moment! My children are all young (kindergarten and toddlers), but even at such a young age it’s hard to remember what life was like without them. Best wishes as you navigate this new phase in your life!

    Like

  2. Lisa

    Yes! It’s true. I suppose the trick for me is not let tin gym life get too big. I am at a different place…my two are just starting elementary school. We have a lot of years ahead of us and I try to enjoy every day. (Even the tricky ones!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

