Tuesday, June 14ish, 2016

 

IMG_4728First Day of Summer

It wasn’t when the calendar rolls over to June

Or after the sign out sheet is complete, keys turned in to the office for safekeeping

It wasn’t the first night we turned on the ceiling fan and it still isn’t cool enough to sleep

 

Or when my daughter arrived home at 2am from her year long study abroad program

It didn’t start with the first dip in the pool, or the first float down the creek

Or even with the first grilled dinner eaten outside under the stars.

It didn’t start with the first ears of early corn from the farmer’s market

Or the Hometown Festival art festival, carnival, and duck race

 

I saw summer was approaching last week with two belated birthday cards sent after four tennis matches in one week.

It was just around the corner when I finished the book even though it was well past midnight.

It snuck in when I dropped everything to hike with a friend and didn’t pick it up again until the next day.

And summer officially began yesterday

When I had to ask the cashier the date AND the day of the week.

I do love the first day of summer.

 

3 thoughts on “Tuesday, June 14ish, 2016

  1. Love it, love it, love it! I had a “first day of summer” moment when I picked up the second Harry Potter book and just read and read and read. I usually don’t read for pleasure during the school year, and the hours spent back in this story line helped ease me into where I am now. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing with us! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

