Tuesday April 17, 2016

Well, we are down to the last week of school.  We graduate our 5th graders next week and each year my team sits down to craft our farewell speech.  This year we have decided to use the format of a “Just Because” poem.  Most of the stanzas were written by my teammate but I thought I would share the ones that I contributed along with some we crafted together.  I give credit to my amazing teammate who wrote the beginning and ending stanzas and who inspired us to use this format (and inspires my teaching every single day).

Just because I’m a teacher

Doesn’t mean I am counting down the days

Eagerly awaiting summer’s freedom

I’m not ready for the end to arrive so soon

 

Just because you will be the 6th graders next year

Doesn’t mean you can’t speak up

Or that you matter any less than anyone else

You are important because you are you.

 

Just because you are heading to different schools

Doesn’t mean you won’t see each other again

Your different pathways will meet again

Your Foothill friends are always your friends.

 

Just because you are surrounded by friends

Doesn’t mean you won’t feel loneliness

Stay strong

Everyone feels that way sometimes

 

Just because you’ll make lots of mistakes

Doesn’t mean they will define you

Doesn’t mean you are wrong

Each one is the opportunity to grow

 

Just because I’m a teacher

Doesn’t mean I am counting down the days

Eagerly awaiting summer’s freedom

I’m not ready for the end to arrive so soon

4 thoughts on “Tuesday April 17, 2016

Leave a Reply

