SOL 2016, D11 Just Because

Thinking about my students, I find I often need to remind myself to not assume.

 

Just because I am confident with my schoolwork,

Doesn’t mean I am ready for middle school

Doesn’t mean I am ready for overnight camp

Doesn’t mean I don’t get scared of what’s around the corner.

 

Just because my handwriting is illegible

Doesn’t mean I am not listening in class

Doesn’t mean I don’t have stories to tell

Doesn’t mean I am not a writer.

 

Just because I shut down and refuse to work

Doesn’t mean I don’t want to do the work

Doesn’t mean I am being belligerent

Doesn’t mean I don’t like you.

 

Just because I produce quality work consistently

Doesn’t mean I don’t stress out

Doesn’t mean there aren’t tears while doing homework

Doesn’t mean it comes easy or quickly for me.

 

Just because I behave one way on the outside,

Doesn’t mean I feel the same way on the inside

Doesn’t mean I don’t need you to ask

Doesn’t mean I don’t need you to care.

3 thoughts on “SOL 2016, D11 Just Because

Leave a Reply

